What Flag Is That 06.15.21

The Co-operative Republic of Guyana. A country on the northern mainland of South America the capital city is Georgetown. Guyana is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the north, Brazil to the south and southwest, Venezuela to the west, and Suriname to the east.

Both Christopher Columbus and Sir Walter Raleigh visited Guyana. There are 9 indigenous tribes in the country whose land was first taken by the Dutch then forcibly taken by Great Britain. It remained a colony of the United Kingdom until 1966. It became an official republic in 1970. It is the only country in South America that has English as the official language, although the vast majority of the people speak Guyanese Creole.

It is the home to spectacular natural wonders such as Kaieteur Falls
It has 900 species of birds. 225 different mammals. 880 species of reptiles.
It is home to the Arapaima, the worlds largest scaled fresh water fish. When I was a Docent at the Denver Zoo it was one of my favorite stops in the Tropical Discovery Building to regale people with facts about this fish. I can still heat kids giggling when this gigantic, ugly fish would swim by.

The flag of Guyana is near and dear to the hearts of all good Vexillologists. It was designed by the Father of Vexillology: Whitney Smith. The colours are symbolic, with red for zeal and dynamism, gold for mineral wealth, green for agriculture and forests, black for endurance, and white for rivers and water.

Whitney Smith, 1940 – 2016. His original design of the flag did not include the black and white outlines of the two arrowheads, called fimbriations, those were added later.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: