What Flag Is That 10.17.21

The capital of West Flanders: Bruges. It is the largest province of West Flanders in the Flemish region of Belgium.

The city center is a UNESCO world heritage site. It is known as the ‘Venice of the North’ because it is a city of canals.

The flag was officially adopted on October 26, 1982. It consists of 8 red and white stripes with a blue lion wearing a yellow crown and a necklace with a small yellow cross and red claws. The blue lion shows the Flemish influence. The design is taken from the municipal coat of arms which has it’s basis the first coat of arms granted to the Count of Flanders in 1304.

The municipal coat of arms for Bruges – the flag takes it’s design from the center of the coat.

I do enjoy collecting flags that represent Flanders. And it is fun to tell people, ‘oh ya, that is Flanders’.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: